Current lipstick collection: review and swatches (Part 2: Light)

This photo is taken by AllWinner's v3-sdv

And so, for the part 2 of my lipstick collection: the light ones!

Well, I should say nudes with one light pink and one coral pink-ish. I just started wearing nudes and I’m loving it, especially now that I’m working and I really can’t wear overwhelmingly dark colors when meeting with my bosses. These colors still make me feel like a femme fatale, though.

P_20170314_194930

From L-R:

  • Menow Kissproof 008

As I have mentioned in Part 1, Menow Kissproof lippies are highly pigmented and super matte, lasts longer than what I expect, and there are a number of shades that I can choose from! When I was starting my venture from dark to nude, I saw this color and immediately fell in love with it. It’s Kissproof’s darkest nude. It has mauve-y undertones which is why I love it because it’s not that light but it can’t be considered as dark either. My friends tell me that they like this shade on me so that’s a yay for picking up my first nude lippie!

  • Ever Bilena Matte in Siennas

This is the coral pink-ish color I’m talking about. Like Dusk from the previous post, it’s also chalky in texture but really easy to apply. For a cheap price, I didn’t really expect getting a smooth buttery glide from this. Well, you get what you pay for, right? The flat finish is still there.

The color is really near my natural lip color, so I like how it enhances my lips but I still look natural. This gives me a fresh look.

  • Maybelline Creamy Matte Nude Nuance

It is what it is — creamy matte. The glide is really smooth and creamy, the color is so gorgeous when you want to pull off a bohemian look.  It’s now my top 1 go-to lipstick since it applies really fast, it goes well with everything too. The color has a slight old rose undertone which is why I find it really charming.

Downside: smudges/erases easily during and after eating! I have to reapply this a lot of times throughout the day and I don’t really have that much time. Also, it kind of melts easily whenever I’m in Manila + the lipstick is fragile, mine just broke for some unknown reason. Nonetheless, I’m still in love with it and would buy again!

  • Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Antwerp

My mom is obsessed with making me wear pink lipsticks so she bought me this. Honestly, I don’t use this very much because it doesn’t match my personality and my current skin tone (thanks, surfing) so I can’t really say much about this lipstick instead that it’s soft, smooth, and smells buttery like all Nyx SMLCs are. It’s too light for me to use, although occasionally I have this on (like, once every 3 months.)

  • Labiotte Chateau Wine Lipstick in D’yquem Nude

I’m not even sure what this brand is since it’s just given to me. I only know about the lip tints but I never knew they have this. This one is just a normal nude, pink-orange undertones. The formula is chalky but it’s easy to apply. It has this weird smell though but it wears off after a few seconds (or maybe I just get desensitized) and it lasts long even after eating. It doesn’t smudge easily so it’s ideal for me — however I don’t really like lipsticks with orange undertones. Still, I use this regularly.

I’m not a very descriptive person, am I? So here are the swatches for the lipsticks I mentioned and you be the judge! I also added the swatch for my lip concealer as I’ve mentioned in my previous daily makeup routine post.

P_20170314_200644

Nude (T-B): LA Girl Lip Concealer in Natural 01, Menow Kissproof in 008, EB Matte in Siennas, Maybelline Creamy Matte in Nude Nuance, Nyx SMLC in Antwerp, Labiotte Chateau Wine Lipstick in D’yquem Nude

Dark (T-B): Revlon ColorStay in Backstage, Nyx Matte Lipstick in Alabama, LA Girl Flat Finish Pigment Gloss in Black Currant, Lime Crime Velvetines in Wicked, ColourPop Lippie Stix in Dalia, Menow Kissproof in 011, Nyx SMLC in Copenhagen, EB Matte in Dusk

So there you go, my current lipstick collection. I look forward to adding more nude colors and maybe some more daring colors (like blue!) but for now, this will do.

sig

 

2 thoughts on “Current lipstick collection: review and swatches (Part 2: Light)

    • Hi Karen! Thanks for your suggestion. I checked the post and honestly, I’m not sure Glossier would work for me. I’ll be posting soon about my nightly skincare routine so do check it out and maybe you’ll get to find new things to review. Great post by the way. 💕

      Like

Leave a Reply

